I don’t know how to help ScienceMama

17 04 2014

I started blogging a long long time ago. When monkey was just barely 1.5 years old, I was coming back from my first maternity leave, returning to lab that was in a downward spiral. Thanks to some great readers, whom provided amazing advice I was able to make some really really good choices. Now 6 years and 2 kids later I’m in my final year, trying finish up papers and full of confidence.

6 + years ago the science blogging commmunity was small, I both was so excited and intimidated by the some of the people I read, and who read my words. I was lucky enough to be able to have some really amazing relationships. To become friends off line with some of the bloggers. One such amazing person is ScienceMama – Her blog Mother of all Scientists has been dormant since she had her second kid and finished her post-doc. I’ve been fortunate to maintain contact with her though facebook.

It was a punch in the gut to learn today that her partner has been diagnosed with a terminal illness. I’m not sure how much private information to put on a public blog, but a donation page has been set up for her family. I don’t know if I should link to it here or have people send me emails. I just know she needs our help. Posting her info would be outing her. Medical help in the USA is extra-ordinarily expensive. I just don’t know. love and hugs to ScienceMama

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 05 2014
bean-writer

I think your idea of having people privately e-mail you makes sense, SM.

It is amazing, isn’t it, how the science blogging community has grown and changed since we both first started blogging more than 6 years ago. I’ve lost track of many people, but I’m glad to still follow both you and Sciencemama (and others) on Facebook (still haven’t gotten into Twitter).

22 11 2016
Yanira

Good info. Lucky me I discovered your site by accident (stumbleupon).
I’ve saved as a favorite for later!

Leave a Reply

