Happy place

17 09 2013

Today will hopefully end up being a productive day. I’ve left biochem for the last couple of days and have gone back to my happy place -> cell biology. And data analysis. It’s amazing how much better one can feel when they feel like their day resulted in some answers. Proteins xyz and epsilon are / are not affected when you remove protein c. Immunofluorescence FTW.

Tonight dinner is left overs so I should be able to work after putting bear to bed and the house doesn’t look like a tornado went through it. Yay for not getting sucked into watching crap tv. Tomorrow is more swimming. So I’m feeling sorta better….

Actions

Information

3 responses

18 09 2013
bean-mom

Glad to hear this! I like cell biology better, too. Although I guess the lines between can get blurry. . .

18 09 2013
scientistmother

Yes it can. But doing something I know works (IF, on a bunch of different lines can give me a figure in 1 week). The biochem will takes week(s) to get 1/2 a fig.

19 10 2013
bean-writer

People are definitely talking about it now! Three women have now come out altogether to share their experiences. . . and Bora just resigned from SciAm.

http://www.scientificamerican.com/pressroom/pr/corporate-press-releases/2013/bora-zivkovic-resigns-from-scientific-american/

I think the initial silence was just. . . shock. It was easy for the blogosphere to pile on some no-name editor from a no-name website (is “ofek” even a real name? is it a pseudonym? And that whole website seems shady–there’s no masthead, no indication of any names of the real people behind it). On the other hand, everyone knew Bora. I don’t even know Bora, yet I feel like I kinda know him. I used to follow his original Blog Around the Clock off and on; I saw him build up the community at Scientific American. I think some of the advice he’s posted on how to become a science writer is the best I’ve ever seen. I think it’s really really hard for people to reconcile this statesman of the science blogging world with what’s now been revealed about his less savory side. If you look online now, you’ll see a lot of posts supporting the women who’ve spoken out and condemning Bora. . . by people expressing sorrow and support for him even as they condemn him. (I’m not on Twitter, so I don’t know what it’s like there).

It’s hard. It’s hard to accept that someone who has done so much good for the science writing/blogging community–someone who by all accounts has been so generous with it–also used his power in ways that he shouldn’t have. I really don’t want to get into it all that much because I don’t know really know any of these people and it all just makes me sad. But it seems much of the initial silence was just that–shock and sadness and people trying to wrap their heads around this. Not necessary a sign that they were condoning any of it.

It’s just. . . sad. All around.

Leave a Reply

