Because why yes, I am fucking crazy

30 07 2011

that is the only reason I would agree to go camping with a 1 month old. But that apparently what we are planning on doing, because its cheap and allows us to take SM dog. However I have not been camping since before I got married. So here is my list of things I need. Please add on!

tent – have

bbq

sleeping bags, foam mats

cooking utensils and dishes

dingy

bikes

lots and lots of diapers

garbage bags,

toilet paper

 

oh and if anyone who knows me IRL and has stuff I can borrow, I would really really appreciate it!

 

Actions

Information

12 responses

31 07 2011
Alyssa

Cooler?

Good luck!

31 07 2011
anom

Not in your backyard camping?

31 07 2011
Dr. Dad, PHD

Lantern, fire starters (I recommend rolled up newspaper dipped in wax), deck of cards

31 07 2011
Kate C

Good luck! We just got back from a weekend of camping with our 9 month old, though, to be fair, we bought a camper trailer and have been going out quiet a lot with the little guy since he was about 3 months old. Some things you definitely don’t want to forget (based on experience) are warm clothes (for mornings and evenings), a stroller for walks around the campground or a kid backpack for hiking, and water containers (a big one for doing dishes and stuff around camp, plus water bottles for hiking or keeping in the tent). Hope you have fun! You can check out my site below to see how we’ve been getting out in the mountains since the papoose arrived.

31 07 2011
ScienceGirl

– Lantern/fire only if you are Absolutely Sure you can keep Monkey from getting burned!
– Flashlights
– Water
– Paper towels

1 08 2011
chall

Not sure if you have mosquitos where you go camping up there but a mosqiouto net for little baby since repellant can be quite harsh on the skin for smaller children/babies (and people like myself… ^^)

I think it’ll go fine. Just relax and enjoy the vacation!

1 08 2011
Zee

Wow this sounds insane to me but I hope everything goes okay! I don’t think I left the house until 6 weeks. But then again I had a baby that never slept so maybe things will be easier for you. Maybe some camping chairs so you don’t have to get on and off the ground as much?

2 08 2011
Cath@VWXYNot?

Bags and rope, to keep food (and the clothes you wore to cook, and toothpaste etc) slung over a tree branch and away from bears. (You can also lock food in a cooler inside a car, but if the bear’s hungry enough (and they’re hungry this year because the cool weather has put the berry crops behind where they should be), it can get into your car: see e.g. http://49th-parallel.blogspot.com/2007/09/bear-gets-into-car.html).

Bear spray / air horn, in case the above doesn’t work. If we’re camping near our car I also keep the key fob next to my pillow, so I can hit the panic button and scare bears away with the car alarm if needed.

(My last couple of camping experiences have made me somewhat paranoid in this regard! But before that I had 8 years worth of bear-free BC camping under my belt, and anyway this may not apply if you’re going to a concrete-and-RVs kind of campsite)

2 08 2011
ScientistMother

Alyssa – thanks!
Anon – we did the in our backyard camping & monkey’s already gone real camping before so it doesn’t work.
Kate – Yes I’m getting a JJ Cole snuggly that I had in the winter and we have a SUV stroller.
ScienceGirl – monkey is well versed around fires. I’m more concerned about BabyGirl than monkey – how do I nurse and change diapers in the middle of the night in a tent??!!
Zee – unfortunately, monkey prevents me from sitting and chilling with BabyGirl like I did with hem
Cath – thanks for scaring the shit out of me! though I like the idea of keeping the FOB with me. We’re going to a well populated provincial park so I’m hoping the bears stay away. Plus the berries are ripe now!

3 08 2011
bean-mom

SM, you are one brave lady =) I bet you will all have a blast, especially Monkey!

4 08 2011
GMP

You are indeed one brave woman! I have never been camping, it seems quite complicated to me, to be honest (plus I’m not really a nature person). But we’ve been on vacation for a week now with a 5-week-old and I feel guilty when he screams in the middle of the night and there are people in neighboring units… Oh well. We’ll be remembered for sure.
I have nothing useful for ya, just to say good luck and have fun!

16 08 2011
Girlpostdoc

so how did it go? i have friends who took their baby on a camping trip that involved them traveling around the world.

Leave a Reply

