Yes there are benefits to false labor

1 06 2011

So if you follow me on twitter, you would’ve been aware that on monday afternoon, just before I had to pick up the monkey and start >45min commute home, I started experiencing labor pains. Which let me tell you is awesome. Who doesn’t want to be driving on a freeway with a 4 yr old, contractions and back pain.  Fun.Times.

I did get home safe and sound.  I still wasn’t 100% sure I was having labor / contractions. I just knew whatever was happening felt different than the braxton-hick contractions I was having  and was painful! Since I was sure, I did what any mom would do. I started making dinner. Which had Mr.SM lecturing me to stop. Knowing his wife very well, he refrained from demanding or ordering and just kept coming up with different options for dinner that did not require me to make roti. Except I wanted to roti. Do you know what you should not do with a 36.5 week pregnant woman possibly in labor? Thats right, you don’t argue with her. You let her do her thing, which he did wonderfully.

Thankfully, by the end of the evening everything calmed down and we were confidently able to say that it was false labor. Woohoo! Neither Mr.SM or I want the inmate out anytime soon. Sometime after June 30th would really work better for us.

The bright side of going through the false labor was that it reminded me of things I need to do. Important stuff like getting an overnight bag for the hospital packed. One that preferably includes clothes for the little one. Also, perhaps we should pack a bag for the monkey, in case he needs to spend the night with family.  Oh and those pregnancy pics I want, perhaps I should schedule them sooner rather than later….

Yeah, I think I really really know how to fool myself. I keep thinking I have another month, when in reality this baby could come out tonight.

Actions

Information

7 responses

1 06 2011
chall

aow, that sounds painful. However, I think you’re right on target with that packing detail 😉 Good luck with having all done and being prepared and looking forward hearing about little one number two.

And take it calm and relax!

2 06 2011
scientistmother

thanks Chall! How are you? I’ve been wondering if all is well since you’ve rather cryptic in your posts and not posting very often. email me if you need anything!

2 06 2011
Cath@VWXYNot?

I’m crossing my fingers for you for no baby before the end of the playoffs! Just don’t get too excited during the games, eh?!

3 06 2011
Fia

Good you are still here! And your new site is awesome!

3 06 2011
scientistmother

Cath – I am too, but those damn Nuckleheads have stressed me out so much these last 2 rounds that I wouldn’t be surprised if they sent me into labor!

FIA – yes I am around, glad you like the site 🙂

7 06 2011
GMP

I’m right there with you, literally (due June 29). I also pretend I have three full weeks left, but as you say, it could be any day now! We are so not ready!!!
My 4-year-old started really acting out… And it’s freaking hot and humid here.
And so many papers to still submit.
A panicking pregnant women — that’s a scary sight.

Good luck in the next few weeks!

23 12 2011
12 months of ScientistMother « ScientistMother: raising replicates

[…] Jun: So if you follow me on twitter, you would’ve been aware that on monday afternoon, just before I had to pick up the monkey and start >45min commute home, I started experiencing labor pains […]

Leave a Reply

