How do you find relevant research papers

26 05 2011

The inmate’s release date is fast approaching and I am desperately trying to tie up lose ends. This includes sorting out animal stocks, finishing up experiments and getting data into a format that is easily analyzable for home. Cuz you know I”m so going to be analyzing images with a new baby and chatty 4 yr old hanging off of me :). The fact of the matter is that I’m going to be away from the bench for a year. Yes unlike the woman in Isis’s post, I don’t really give a rats ass if someone is going to dock me for having a kid.  Part of the reason for my non-chalant attitude is that I live north of the 49th parallel where we have had accommodations for things like pregnancy for longer than most of USians readers do. This means the science community has hada longer time to change our thought process on it. Also I”m surrounded by amazing PI’s. All but 1 of my committee members are involved parents and successful scientists. They are rock stars. They know its hard to combine science and family, but they value the importance of doing so, even the non-parent PI. Trust me, I know this is not universal. Remember, I’m the gal who quit her PhD and started from scratch because that support did not exist after the monkey was born. But it is changing and the people who are supporting me are slowly becoming the majority.

However, I am not so naive to think that I can leave for a year and come back to pick things up right where I left off. Stuff changes, papers come out and I need to keep reading. I”m hoping someone will buy me a tablet of some sort so that I can easily read and take notes while at monkey’s activities. I am therefore trying to figure out how to keep on top of articles. Despite being sorta tech savvy, I’ve never embraced or even figured out how to get pubmed to send me weekly keyword searches. I know some of you use RSS feeds and others just have TOCs from select journals emailed to you. I would love to hear the pro’s & cons of each method.

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 06 2011
gerty-z

Sorry I’m so late. Probably you already do this, but I think that PubMed alerts are the best way to go. I don’t have time to sift through the entire TOC for all journals. I set up alerts for authors that I want to keep track of and searches on PubMed for specific topics. Good luck planning for your time after the little inmate escapes!

17 02 2014
write my essay

Hello excellent blog! Does running a blog similar to this take a
great deal of work? I have virtually no knowledge of coding but I was hoping to start my own blog soon.
Anyhow, if you have any ideas or techniques for new blog owners please share.
I know this is off subject however I simply needed to ask.
Thank you!

Leave a Reply

